About us

The University is an autonomous scientific and educational institution, according to current legal regulations. At its head is the rector, who is elected for a period of three years. The highest autonomous academic body is the Academic Senate. Other bodies are the Scientific Council and the Bursar; the Board of Trustees is responsible for taking care of public interest. The deans are the heads of faculties, and directors are the heads of other higher education institutions and centres.

The rector’s administrative department is the MU Rector’s Office, which mainly prepares materials for the rector’s deliberation. The duties of the Rector’s Office also include administrative and economic issues concerning workplaces and organisations which operate throughout the university, unless the rector entrusts these organisations with the authority to make independent decisions on certain aspects under the auspices of MU.

Rector’s Office in Numbers

  • Number of employees: 171
  • External staff: 213