Publication details

Czech Republic



Year of publication 2024
Type Chapter of a book
MU Faculty or unit

Faculty of Arts

Description The transformation of the Czech theatre network started right after 1989, but it was not fully completed, and theatres still have to negotiate their position in between Ministry of Culture and local municipalities. New Czech writing started to arise at the end of 1990s, and many different playwrights (as such Petr Zelenka, David Drábek, Roman Sikora, Iva Volánková, Lenka Lagronová, René Levinský, Petr Kolečko, Tomáš Dianiška, and Anna Saavedra) are now established. A new generation of Czech theatre directors (namely, Jan Mikulášek, Anna Davidová, Daniel Špinar, Jiří Adámek (Austerlitz), Jan Frič, Štěpán Pácl, Jiří Havelka, Petra Tejnorová, Viktorie Čermáková, and SKUTR) employ versatile variety of styles, demonstrating postmodern sensibility (using postdramatic principles and visuality).
Related projects:

You are running an old browser version. We recommend updating your browser to its latest version.

More info