The rear of the Line on the Staviska Hill
|Year of publication
|Appeared in Conference without Proceedings
|In the spring of 1915, after the Russian forces broke the line at Stebník (Bardejov Dist.), Austro-Hungarian troops seized the ridge of the hill Staviská on what is now the Polish-Slovak border. Afterwards, they held the positions on this line for one month and built here unique trenches, whose stone masonry is preserved to this day. In the rear of this line, there are individual partly sunken features that served as temporary living quarters for soldiers. The contribution presents the results of excavation of one of these facilities. The excavation has revealed the construction of the aboveground part of the living quarters and the presence of a heating device carved into a rock face against which the feature was leaning. Artefacts were found, which give evidence of the everyday life of soldiers, e.g. cutlery or discarded food tins.